Spider-Mad-Men

Wow, my first two posts were both about Baroque opera?  😐  Time to give comics their due!

I recently read Stan Lee & Steve Ditko’s very first Amazing Spider-Man stories and though I was never much of a Spider-Man fan, I found it all very charming, in an early 60’s sort of way.

The art didn’t impressed me that much,  but that one panel above just knocked me out!  Love the way the black of the costume blends into the background…  It actually reminded me of a Japanese woodblock print at the time, though it could also be a very modern silkscreen…

At any rate, I felt sorta inspired, so here’s my early 60’s Spider-Man tribute (click to enlarge):

Lee & Ditko did pretty well creating characters that’d be reused forever, but Big Man, Tinkerer, and especially the Living Brain don’t seem to have catched on : P

One thought on “Spider-Mad-Men

  1. In 1982 Roger Stern wrote for Amazing Spider Man one of the most beautiful story arcs I’ve ever read. It is rather short (it starts in issue # 226 and ends in the following one), but every single panel of it is pure awesomeness.
    Spider Man and Black Cat were the leading characters of that arc.
    In that period Spidey had started to become more and more similar to Batman: the series passed from a sunny setting to a dark one, Peter started to cooperate with a female version of Commissioner Gordon (Jean De Wolff), and, most of all, he developed a detective approach he never had before. His relationship with Black Cat was a part of this project: Black Cat is Marvel’s Catwoman, so the affair between her and Peter deliberately reminded of the one between Batman and Catwoman.
    This magic period ended with the death of Jean De Wolff. She is one of the Spider Man characters who should have been employed more and in a far better way, along with Eddie Brock, Cletus Kasady, Betty Brant and so on.
    I tend to avoid the word “masterpiece” because, like the word “cult”, nowadays everybody employs it too often, so it lost a lot of its significance, but the arc I mentioned is among the very few ones that really deserve this definition.
    In the last 20 years, I read only 2 other comics that I could call “masterpieces”: I’m referring to 2 single issues starring Batman, “Seduction of the Gun” and “The Meaning of Life” (Shadow of the Bat # 72). Maybe I should add “The Long Halloween” to the list.
    Are there any other examples that come to your mind?

Leave a Reply

