Diva to Casta Diva

When she’s not watching non-stop Catholic mass on TV, my grandmother sometimes watches the news from Spain, which is how I learned that today is Catalan soprano Montserrat Caballé‘s 80th birthday!  To celebrate, here is probably her single most famous performance, in Bellini‘s Norma at the 1974 Orange Opera Festival.

Additionally, here’s an interview with her in 1970, where she discusses the role of Norma four years before that legendary performance (Part 2 here).

Miyazaki Movie Marathon

Why didn’t anyone tell me about this?  The Brooklyn Academy of Music, in addition to being an occasional host to opera, also offers theater, concerts, and film…  And right now they’re halfway through a film series of Hayao Miyazaki movies!  This is the last weekend to see these movies on the Brooklyn big screen, with Porco Rosso tonight, Kiki’s Delivery Service and Howl’s Moving Castle on Saturday, and Spirited Away on Sunday.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p_wxIleNkI&w=350&h=300]

I seriously need to catch up on my Studio Ghibli, but I don’t think they’re on Netflix?  So I might need to just head out to Brooklyn…  Cuz my local librarian probably judges me enough as is without me borrowing Kiki’s Delivery Service from them too : P  Just kidding, wear your freak flag proud!