Miyazaki Movie Marathon

Why didn’t anyone tell me about this?  The Brooklyn Academy of Music, in addition to being an occasional host to opera, also offers theater, concerts, and film…  And right now they’re halfway through a film series of Hayao Miyazaki movies!  This is the last weekend to see these movies on the Brooklyn big screen, with Porco Rosso tonight, Kiki’s Delivery Service and Howl’s Moving Castle on Saturday, and Spirited Away on Sunday.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p_wxIleNkI&w=350&h=300]

I seriously need to catch up on my Studio Ghibli, but I don’t think they’re on Netflix?  So I might need to just head out to Brooklyn…  Cuz my local librarian probably judges me enough as is without me borrowing Kiki’s Delivery Service from them too : P  Just kidding, wear your freak flag proud!

2 thoughts on “Miyazaki Movie Marathon

  1. That is so cool! Glad I came across this blog post. Too bad Princess Mononoke doesn’t get the rep it earns, man, the soundtrack to that film is so excellent.

    • i think they actually showed mononoke already in that series; i remember seeing it around when it came out, so it’s probably a good time to revisit it soon… : )

Leave a Reply

