Oh star of my desire…

This lovely aria from one of my favorite operas has been in my head lately, so figured it was time to share it.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WRJA-vui94&w=350&h=300]

That’s one of Cleopatra’s act one arias in Händel‘s most enduring opera, Giulio Cesare in Egitto.  While I’m not usually a fan of opera in translation, I liked the vintage of this clip, and thought English soprano Valerie Masterson‘s performance (and diction!) was worth sharing.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Oh star of my desire…

  1. Yes, great diction, although I ultimately prefer the Italian 🙂 This is such a lovely aria, and one that I actually didn’t become familiar with until much later since it sometimes gets cut. Thanks for sharing!

    • oh man, why would they cut that aria out?! though i guess it would be pretty hard to choose to cut anything in giulio cesare 😉 and i’m also usually an opera language purist, so this was more of a novelty than anything else, haha… thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

