Runaway Fashions

Hey all, sorry for the long absence; I’m easily overwhelmed with school work, and now part-time work too!  So yes, I have a job in an archive…  of clothing!  I’m not the most fashionable guy, so not sure how I got hired, but I’m learning lots of fashion terminology, so very fun times…

Runaways Cover

Runaways Cover by Alphona & Strain

I’ve also lately picked up where I left off with Brian K. Vaughan & Adrian Alphona‘s Runaways, the 2003 debuting Marvel comic series about a group of LA teens who discover their parents are a group of supervillains.  I love it and I love Alphona‘s art, especially his sharp fashion sense…

That fashion sense is so sharp in fact, that I was not at all surprised to see he had a fashion tag on his (kinda out of date) blog.  Further evidence of his stylishness:

Alphona's Fashion Illustrations

Alphona‘s Toronto Fashion Week 2012 Illustrations

These illustrations from Toronto’s 2012 Fashion Week.  Snazzy.

Where’s the Runaways crew now?  Alphona had been away from comics for a while, but he’s been making a welcome comeback back at Marvel.  Brian K. Vaughan also had a prolonged comics absence but came back in a big way with the much praised Saga from Image Comics and his similarly adored pay-what-you-wish online comic, The Private Eye, with art by Marcos Martin.  Christina Strain, a near constant throughout Runaways’ run as their colorist, debuted her own comic, The Fox Sister, 2 years ago, so you can catch up with that too…

Leave a Reply

